
MIAMI-DADE COUNTY 
MIAMHlADE.
ED CONSTRUCTION LIEN LAW FOR OWNERS 

NOTE: IF YOU SIGNED AS THE OWNER'S AGENT YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR DELIVERING 
THIS INFORMATION SHEET TO THE OWNER OF THE PROPERTY. 

WARNING TO OWNER 
Florida's Construction Lien Low (Chapter 713, Port One, 

Florido Statutes) requires the recording with the Clerk of the 
Courts o Notice of Commencement for real property improvements 
greater than $2,500.00. However, it does not apply lo the repair 
or replacement of on existing heating or air conditioning system 
less than $5000.00 in value. This notice must be signed by you, 
the property owner. 

Under Florido low, those who work on your property or 
provide materials and are not paid, have a right to enforce their 
claim for payment against your property. This claim is known as 
o construction lien . 

YOU MUST FILE A NOTICE 
OF COMMENCEMENT 

For your protection under the Construction Lien Law and to 
ovoid the possibility of paying twice for improvements to real 
property, you must record o Notice of Commencement in the 
Clerk of the Court's Office. You also must provide a certified copy 
of the recorded document at the construction site. The Notice of 
Commencement must be signed by you, the owner contracting 
the improvements, and not by your agent. 

The Notice of Commencement form , provided with this 
information pocket, must be completed and recorded within 90 
days before starling the work. _ 

A copy of the payment bond, if any is required by you and 
purchased by the contractor, must be attached as port of the 
Notice of Commencement when recorded . 

If improvements described in the Notice of Commencement 
ore not actually started within 90 days ofter the recording of the 
Notice, a new Notice of Commencement must be recorded. 

You lose your protection under the Construction Lien Law if 
the payments ore mode to the contractor after the expiration of 
the Notice of Commencement. The Notice is good for one year 
ofter the recording date or up to the dote specified under item 
nine of the form. 

Florido law requires the Building and Neighborhood Compliance 
Deportment to be a second source of information concerning the 
improvements mode on real property. The Building Permit Application 
(included with this pocket) hos been expanded to include information 
on the construction lender and the contractor's surety, if any. The new 
application requires your signature or your agent's, to inform you of 
the Construction Lien Law. 

YOU MUST POST THE NOTICE OF 
COMMENCEMENT AT THE JOB SITE 

By law, the Building and Neighborhood Compliance 
Department is required to verify at the first inspection, after the 
building permit is issued, that a certified copy of the recorded 
Notice of Commencement, with attached bonds if any, is pasted al 
the construction site. Failure lo show the inspector a certified copy 
of the recorded Notice will result in a disapproved inspection, 
(Florida Statute 713.135( 1)(d)). 

NOTICE TO OWNER FROM 
SUBCONTRACTORS AND SUPPLIERS 

You may receive a Notice to Owner from subcontractors 
and material suppliers. This notice advises you that the sender 
is providing services or materials. Subcontractors and suppliers 
must serve a Notice to Owner within 45 days of commencing 
work to preserve their ability to lien your property. 

If your address changes from that given in the Notice of 
Commencement, you should record o corrected Notice reAecting 
your current address. This is done to help ensure you will receive 
all notices. 

RELEASE FROM LIEN FROM CONTRACTOR 
Prior to paying the contractor, you need lo receive a Release 

of Lien and Affidavit to the extent of payment from the general 
contractor. The Release of Lien and Affidavit shall slate either 
that all the subcontractors and suppliers have been paid or list 
those unpaid and the amount owed. The contractor is required 
to list on the Release of Lien and Affidavit any subcontractor or 
supplier that has not been paid. That amount may be withheld 
from the contractor's pay and paid directly to the subconlrcidor 
or suppliers after 10 days written notice to the contractor. 

If the balance due to the contractor is not sufficient to pay 
in full all subcontractors and suppliers listed on the contractor's 
affidavit, you may wish lo consult on attorney. 

The general contractor shall furnish o final Release of Lien 
and Affidavit lo the owner indicating all subcontractors and 
suppliers hove been paid at the time he requests final payment. 
You con rely on the affidavit in making final payment to the 
general contractor. If you make final payment to the general 
contractor without obtaining the affidavit, your property can be 
liened for non-payment if the general contractor fails to pay the 
subcontractors or suppliers. You should always obtain o Release of 
Lien and Affidavit from the contractor to the extent of any payments 
being made. 

RELY ON YOUR LENDER FOR COMPLIANCE 
WITH CONSTRUCTION LIEN LAW 

If you have a lender, you may rely on the lender to handle 
the recording of the Notice of Commencement. Learn more about 
the Construction Lien Law by contacting on attorney, your lender, 
or the Florido Department of Agricultural and Consumer Services, 
Division of Consumer Services. 

Documents ore recorded at the Clerk of the Courts, 
MIAMI-DADE COUNTY RECORDER, COURTHOUSE EAST, 
22 N.W. First Street, 1st Floor, Miami, FL 33128. 

You can record the Notice of Commencement by mail. The 
original Notice should be sent to the County Recorder, P.O. Box 
011711, Flagler Station, Miami, Florida 33101. Please make 
sure the original Notice is signed and notarized. Also, remember 
to enclose the recording fee (for a single copy) and written 
instructions for recording and returning a certified copy of the 
recorded documents. For additional information on fees and 
recording documents call (305) 275-1155. 
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NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT 
A RECORDED COPY MUST BE POSTED ON THE JOB SITE AT TIME OF FIRST INSPECTION 

PERMIT NO. ________TAX FOLIO NO.___________ 

STATE OF FLORIDA: 

COUNTY OF MIAMI-DADE: 

THE UNDERSIGNED hereby gives notice that improvements will be made to certain real 

property, and in accordance with Chapter 713, Florida Statutes, the following information 
is provided in this Notice of Commencement. 

Space above reserved for use of recording office 

1. Legal description of property and street/address: ______ ______________________ 

2. Description of improvement: _ _ __________________________________ 

3. Owner(s) name and address: --------------------- ------ --------­
Interest in property: ------- --- ------------------------------
Name and address of fee simple titleholder: _______________________ ___ _____ 
4. Contractor's name, address and phone number: ____ _________________________ 

5. Surety: (Payment bond required by owner from contractor, if any) 
Name, address and phone number: ____________ ____________ __________ 
Amount of bond$___________ _ 
6. Lender's name and address: __________ _______ ___ ____ _____ ______ 

7. Persons within the State of Florida designated by Owner upon whom notices or other documents may be served as provided by 
Section 713.13(1 )(a)7., Florida Statutes, 
Name, address and phone number: _________________________ __________ 

8. In addition to himself, Owners designates the following person(s) to receive a copy of the Lienor's Notice as provided in Section 
713.13(1)(b), Florida Statutes. 
Name, address and phone number: _ _ ______ _________ _____________ ____ 

9. Expiration date of this Notice of Commencement: 
(the expiration date is 1 year from the date of recording unless a different date is specified) 

WARNING TO OWNER: ANY PAYMENTS MADE BY THE OWNER AFTER THE EXPIRATION OF THE NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT ARE CONSIDERED 
IMPROPER PAYMENTS UNDER CHAPTER 713, PART I, SECTION 713.13. FLORIDA STATUTES, AND CAN RESULT IN YOUR PAYING TWICE FOR 
IMPROVEMENTS TO YOUR PROPERTY. A NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT MUST BE RECORDED AND POSTED ON THE JOB SITE BEFORE THE 
FIRST INSPECTION. IF YOU INTEND TO OBTAIN FINANCING, CONSULT WITH YOUR LENDER OR AN ATTORNEY BEFORE COMMENCING WORK 
OR RECORDING YOUR NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT. 

Signature(s) of Owner(s) or Owner(s)' Authorized Officer/Director/Partner/Manager 
Prepared By_________ ________ Prepared By ____________________ 
Print Name _________________ Print Name ____________________ 

Title/Office_________________ Title/Office ___________ ________ 
STATE OF FLORIDA 
COUNTY OF MIAMI-DADE 
The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this _ _ _ day of__________________ ___ 

By _____-=,,..------- --- ---------- - --- - - - ---- ------------0 Individually, or Oas.______________ for _______________________ 
0 Personally known, or O produced the following type of identification: ____ _________________ 

Signature of Notary Public: 
Print Name: 

(SEAL) 

VERIFICATION PURSUANT TO SECTION 92.525, FLORIDA STATUTES 
Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read the foregoing and 
that the facts stated in it are true, to the best of my knowledge and belief. 

Signature(s) of Owner(s) or Owner(s)'s Authorized Officer/Director/Partner/Manager who signed above: 

By _________________ ___ By _____________________ 
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RELEASE OF LIEN AND AFFIDAVIT 

Space above reserved for use of recording office 

1. The undersigned contractor, for an in consideration of the payments of the sum of _______,.aid by receipt of which 

is hereby acknowledged, hereby releases and quit claims to the .owner of the hereinafter 

described property, all Hens, lien rights, claims or demands of any kind whatsoever, which the undersigned now has to might 

have against the building located on, or premises legally described as ______ _____________ 

on account of labor performed and/or materials furnished for the construction of any such improvements on said premises. 

2. All labor and materials used by the undersigned in the erection of said improvements have been paid in full , except as 
follows: _________________________________________ 

3. All lienors furnishing labor, services, or materials for said improvements have been paid in full, except as follows: 

4. This instrument is executed and delivered to the owner in compliance with Chapter 713, Florida Statutes. 

" 5. The undersigned contractors does hereby consent to the payment by the owner of all lienors giving notice and those lienors 

above named. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set by hand and seal this _____ day of _______, 20 ___ 

Witnesses: 

1. ___________________ 
-------~ ------ (SEAL) 

(Contractor) 
2. ___________________ By __________________ 

(President) 

STATE OF FLORIDA: 

COUNTY OF MIAMI-DADE: 

I, hereby acknowledge that the statements contained in the foregoing Release of Lien and Affidavit are true and correct. Sworn 

to and subscribed before me, this ______ day of--------~ 20__. 

Notary Public ______________ 

Print Notary's Name: ___________ 

My Commission Expires: __________ 
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This instrument prepared by: 

Name: 

Address: 

NOTICE OF TERMINATION 
(of Notice of Commencement) 

STATE OF FLORIDA: 

COUNTY OF MIAMI-DADE: 

The undersigned hereby gives notice that the effective period of that certain Notice of Commencement 
dated__________________~ recorded in O.R. Book/Page_________./_______ 

of the Public Records of Dade County, Florida, will terminate; and, in accordance with Section 713.132, Florida Statutes, the following 

information is provided: 

1. The date and recording information for the Notice of Commencement being terminated are as described above, and all information 

contained therein is hereby expressly incorporated into this NOTICE OF TERMINATION. 
2. The Notice of Commencement shall be terminated as of________________, or 30 days from the recording 

date of this Notice of Termination, whichever date is later. 

3. This Notice of Termination applies to: 

0 all the real property subject to the above described Notice of Commencement. 

0 only to the portion of such real property described as: 

Space above reserved for use of recording office 

4. All lienors have been paid in full or prorata in accordance with Section 713.06(4), Florida Statutes. 

5. A copy of this notice has been served on the contractor and on each lienor who has given notice, if any. 

Owner Signature: _______________ Owner Signature: __________________ 
Print Name _________________ Print Name ____________________ 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me this ________ day of ____________ 20 _____ 
by: ________________________________________ 

Personally known to me, or produced_____________________.as identification. 

Notary Signature: __________________ 

Print Name: ____________________ 

seal 

Exhibit attached: 

0 Contractor's Final Payment Affidavit 

0 Property Legal Description 

0 Copy of Notice of Commencement 


